Home | Mission | About Us | Countries | Merchandise | Donate | Contact Us
Ethiopia Main



Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Ethiopia, also known as Abyssynia, is the oldest country in the world. Located in the northeast of Africa, it is one of the countries that make up the "Horn of Africa". Ethiopia is approximately 435,180 square miles (1,127,111 km2), two and a half times the size of California. It has a population of over 75 million people. Ethiopia shares its borders with Eritrea to the North, Kenya to the South, Sudan to the West and Djibouti and Somalia to the East.

This country has never been colonized, but was occupied in 1936 by Italian Fascist forces under Mussolini. The reigning emperor at that time was Haile Selassie who pleaded for help to the League of Nations (or the modern day United Nations) for weapons and assistance. His plea fell on deaf ears however. Selassie eventually fled to Britain for exile but later returned after Ethiopia was liberated in 1940 with the help of the British, French, and other African forces.

The capital of Ethiopia is the city-state Addis Abeba. It is located in the center of the country and was founded by Melenik the Second in 1886. The city-state lies at the foot of Mount Entoto. The climate is cool as the elevation varies from seven to ten thousand feet.

Ethiopia is divided into nine administrative "killiloch" regions based on ethnicity, and three chartered cities (identified in bold).

  • Addis Abeba
  • Afar
  • Amhara
  • Benishangul-Gumuz
  • Dire
  • Dawa
  • Gambela
  • Harari
  • Oromia
  • Somali
  • Southern Nations
  • Tigray